Kansas State Department of Education

FaceBook Twitter Contact KSDE
Kansas State Board of Education

The Mission of the State Board of Education is to prepare Kansas students for lifelong success through rigorous, quality academic instruction, career training and character development according to each student's gifts and talents.

The Kansas State Board of Education consists of 10 elected members, each representing a district comprised of four contiguous senatorial districts. Board members serve four-year terms with an overlapping schedule. (View each one's profile and contact information by selecting his/her photo). Every other year, the State Board reorganizes to elect a chairman and vice-chairman. The State Board appoints a Commissioner of Education who serves as its executive director.

Kansas State Boad of Education District Map District 3 District 9 District 8 District 7 District 10 District 4 District 6 District 2 District 1 District 5

External Resources

Board Secretary
Peggy Hill

Board Member Contact Information (PDF)

Kansas State Board of Education Live Media Stream

Next Meeting

For more information about KSDE media streaming.

Copyright 2015 by Kansas State Department of Education | 900 SW Jackson St. | Topeka, KS 66612 Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use  |  System Maintenance Notices  |  Open Records
The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. (more information...)