For immediate release:

January 13, 2014

 Denise Kahler, Director of Communications, 785-296-4876

Two Kansas Educators Named National Finalists for Math and Science Awards


Two Kansas educators; Lindsay Constance (science), Bluejacket Flint Elementary School, USD 512 Shawnee Mission, and Cathy Wilbur (math), West Elementary School, USD 320 Wamego, have been named 2012 National finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science TeachingNational finalists are announced on an 18-month cycle. 2013 finalists will be announced in the summer of 2014.


The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level. Each year the award alternates between educators teaching kindergarten through 6th grade and those teaching 7th through 12th grades. The 2012 awardees named teach kindergarten through 6th grade.


Constance and Wilbur were two of only 102 mathematics and science teachers nationally selected to receive this prestigious award from President Obama.  The 2012 awardees represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Department of Defense Education Activity.  Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion.


Finalists also are invited to Washington, DC, for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and the Administration.


Nominations for the 2014 PAEMST are open through April 1, 2014. For more information about PAEMST, please visit